2 Comments

The 5 Reasons I get Happier as I get Older…


I really enjoyed reading this post. Introspection and self awareness combined with a sense of connection to the beings and the world around us are definitely a recipe for feeling energized and having a meaningful life. In our society (especially in the USA), we focus so much on externals and on social and financial success, we tend to collectively forget that each of us does have a purpose and that the time we have here allows us to get to know our self and one another.

JamesRadcliffe.com

Long past the grim-dark of midnight, in a loud and crowded bar somewhere in the red-brick old town of Edinburgh, I found myself talking with a friend who was well and truly down in her cups due to a recently ‘celebrated’ birthday.

As the conversation unfolded, she repeatedly invited me to commiserate with her on the general unfairness of aging and the perceived dearth of her bright glow youth; to which I replied that, in all honestly, as I have gotten older I have noticed myself becoming markedly happier.

Sitting up suddenly, alert, incredulous, (and swaying not a little) she blurted: ‘How is that even possible?’.

This post is my answer to that question.

View original post 944 more words

2 comments on “The 5 Reasons I get Happier as I get Older…

    • Hi Mukul. Thanks for the comment! I reblogged James Radcliffe’s post because I really like the way he combines self-discipline with a sense of purpose focused around service to others. Each of us has special gifts and talents and also challenges we face in life. Introspection helps us to unfold and discover at least part of the complexity of our hearts and minds, and it takes some dedication and clarity to see that the values our cultures promote are not necessarily aligned with our personal purpose here in the world. With courage and focus, we can each make a difference by doing the work we were meant to do. I think it’s important to learn to love and be patient with our self, because sometimes it takes time and a variety of experiences for our purpose to mature and unfold. The world is a complex and wonderful school for the soul. Rebekah 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

