Leave a comment

Memory in Bites and Flashes: An Embarrassing Poem


Days past innocently abused

Took on the embarrassment of others

Carried it like a shield

One time, still cringing at the memory,

a man tricked me into a hotel bathroom

under pretext of business

I bought the lie, didn’t understand

My skin did crawl in red-cheeked shame

I needed to forgive myself for what he did

Today no more victim

Respect lost into a pool of a boneless former self

My mirror has regained an image self-composed

What he did, what I chose out of unknowing

are truly unrelated worlds

The need for shame beheaded

Relief spouts out of the gushing severed spine

A new head now grows there

Fertile with a truth of my own

Please Leave a Reply

